If You Loved Gone Girl or Girl On The Train…You Will Love These Books

I love to read, don’t you?

 

31113934

 

This week I have been staying up way past my bedtime thanks to some really good books. I am so tired all day but when I get in bed with a book, my blankets, essential oils, dogs, suddenly I get my second wind!

 

The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton was everything I wanted in a creepy thriller. It kept me turning the pages, I kind of wanted the main character to get her way, I laughed at her audacity, and I wasn’t sure in which direction the book was going to go.

The Perfect Girlfriend is a book that caught my attention early on and held it to the last page. I can’t believe this is the author’s first novel, well done!

If you love someone, set them free. If they come back, they’re yours. If they don’t, make them.”

Juliette loves her ex-boyfriend Nick. She loves him so much in fact, that she’s convinced they belong together even though he broke up with her. If she can show him she’s changed, suely he will want her back though.

She even completes training to become a flight attendant at the airline where Nick is a pilot. How surprised he will be when he sees her!

And Nick’s sister Bella, a girl who was mean to Juliette growing up at school, she will get what’s coming to her. Juliette has a plan in place and nothing will get in her way.

What a devious main character! I loved it. And I don’t want to give away any secrets but…WOW!

Here’s the official synopsis:

Juliette loves Nate. She will follow him anywhere. She’s even become a flight attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.

They are meant to be.

The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing. Because Juliette has a plan to win him back. She is the perfect girlfriend. And she’ll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants.

True love hurts, but Juliette knows it’s worth all the pain.

 

I wish this book was out now but its coming in March 2019. Pre-order it now!

 

 

I am so excited to read The Last Woman in the Forest by Diane Les Becquets. From the cover alone I was instantly intrigued. Its a book about nature and murder and for someone who loves nature and loves murder/thriller/suspense, what could be better? And it features a dog lover!

Here is what you need to know:

 

Marian Engström has found her true calling: working with rescue dogs to help protect endangered wildlife. Her first assignment takes her to northern Alberta, where she falls in love with her mentor, the daring and brilliant Tate. After they’re separated from each other on another assignment, Marian is shattered to learn of Tate’s tragic death. Worse still is the aftermath in which Marian discovers disturbing inconsistencies about Tate’s life, and begins to wonder if the man she loved could have been responsible for the unsolved murders of at least four women.

Hoping to clear Tate’s name, Marian reaches out to a retired forensic profiler who’s haunted by the open cases. But as Marian relives her relationship with Tate and circles ever closer to the truth, evil stalks her every move.

 

I am so curious just reading this short synopsis! This book has been getting rave reviews and I look forward to snuggling up with my dogs and reading it.

 

 

A suburban couple who bond over stalking and killing women? Sounds good to me! In My Lovely Wife, Samantha Downing has created quite a plot centering around a successful husband and wife who are the last people you’d guess would be involved in murdering young women.

But when your spouse is evil and sneaky, can you really trust them? What happens when cracks in the relationship surface and you are no longer sure your wife is being honest with you….

This was quite a thriller and I have no doubt we will see the movie version of this soon. It’s a fabulous suspense novel that is twisted and sick! I read about My Lovely Wife a while ago and was super anxious to get my book loving hands on it. I wasn’t disappointed!

Here’s the synopsis:

 

Our love story is simple. I met a gorgeous woman. We fell in love. We had kids. We moved to the suburbs. We told each other our biggest dreams and our darkest secrets. And then we got bored.

We look like a normal couple. We’re your neighbors, the parents of your kid’s friend, the acquaintances you keep meaning to get dinner with. We all have our secrets to keeping a marriage alive. Ours just happens to be getting away with murder.

 

 

I really liked My Husbands Wife so I have very high hopes for Jane Corry’s novel, The Dead Ex. After Vicki is diagnosed with epilepsy, her husband leaves her for another woman. Years later, Vicki learns that her ex is missing and she’s a suspect. This novel is told in two timelines by three different characters which always keeps the reader guessing.

Here’s the synopsis:

Vicki works as an aromatherapist, healing her clients out of her home studio with her special blends of essential oils. She’s just finishing a session when the police arrive on her doorstep–her ex-husband David has gone missing. Vicki insists she last saw him years ago when they divorced, but the police clearly don’t believe her. And her memory’s hardly reliable–what if she didhave something to do with it?

Meanwhile, Scarlet and her mother Zelda are down on their luck, and at eight years old, Scarlet’s not old enough to know that the “game” her mother forces her to play is really just a twisted name for dealing drugs. Soon, Zelda is caught, and Scarlet is forced into years of foster care–an experience that will shape the rest of her life . . .

David’s new wife, Tanya, is the one who reported him missing, but what really happened on the night of David’s disappearance? And how can Vicki prove her innocence, when she’s not even sure of it herself? The answer lies in the connection among these four women–and the one person they can’t escape.

I love books like this one that have many twists and turns. It’s dark and addictive, just the way a thriller should be!

Due out January 2019

 

 

The first thing that caught my eye is the cover! I’m very intrigued already. Secrets Between Us by Valerie Keogh will be out in two weeks so order it now! If you are addicted to thrillers, dark and twisty novels, books that keep you up late, then you will like this one!

The story centers around twin sisters, Ellie who is accomplished and married to Will, and Tia, a woman who has been living in a residential center for special needs. With both their parents dead, the girls don’t have anyone but each other. Unfortunately, Ellie went away to boarding school while Tia was institutionalized. When the institution closes down, Ellie takes her sister in.

What could possibly go wrong? A  LOT!

Synopsis:

One letter a week for fifteen years. 780 identical white envelopes brimming with my sister’s darkest secrets. All the intimate details of a life as different to mine as could possibly be.

I read each letter slowly to make sure I understand it perfectly, one day very soon it will be a matter of life and death…At the end of each letter, after signing her name, there is always one final sentence: Don’t forget to burn this letter. I’ll let you decide if I do…

 

Another winner from one of my favorite publishers, Bookouture.

 

 

I really love books with a premise like The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley. It reminds me of the plot of an Agatha Christie novel! I absolutely love the idea of people snowed in and one of them is a murderer.

Here’s what you need to know:

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

 

I am really excited to read this book, its getting amazing reviews and its currently at the top of my To-Read list!

Due out in January 2019.

 

No Comments

Leave a Comment

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)