Thrilling Books You Will Read In A Weekend

 

John Marrs landed on my radar after reading The Good Samaritan. He’s an author to keep your eye on for sure, his books are really thrilling and well written. Its been a rough week for me so I haven’t dedicated my usual nightly routine to reading like I typically do but I am slowly making my way through Her Last Move. Exhaustion has forced me into bed earlier than usual, I am hoping to carve out time this afternoon to catch up.

I like books that start with a bang and this one quickly pulls you in with an accident on the subway.

Here’s the synopsis:

 

She’s chasing a killer. He’s watching her every move.

He hides in the shadows, waiting for the perfect moment. Each kill is calculated, planned and executed like clockwork.

Struggling to balance her personal and professional life, young DS Becca Vincent has landed the biggest case of her career—and she knows that it will make or break her. But she can’t catch the culprit alone. Together with facial recognition expert Joe Russell, she strives to get a lead on the elusive murderer, who is always one step ahead of them.

Time is not on their side. The body count is rising, and the attacks are striking closer and closer to home. Can Becca and Joe uncover the connection between the murders before the killer strikes the last name from his list?

 

This is really a good, old-fashioned suspense. There’s nothing extreme or wild about the plot, there’s a lot of mystery here and its well paced and the pages turn quickly as everything builds.  Her Last Move is due out in November, add it to your Goodreads list now!

 

 

The Warning by Kathryn Croft promises to grab you and thrill you! I’ve heard from a few fellow readers that they read this novel in record time. Don’t you love a book that roots you in place until the last page? I am so eager to get started on this one!

Here’s what you need to know:

Three years ago, Zoe’s fourteen-year-old son Ethan was found drowned in a river by their home, along with his best friend Josh. With no witnesses, the police rule their deaths a tragic accident.

Heartbroken by the loss of her child, Zoe and her husband Jake, along with their older son Harley, move away to try and rebuild their lives. They are just beginning to get back to some kind of normality, when, out of the blue, Zoe receives an anonymous email.

The message tells Zoe the police are wrong about how her son died, and what kind of mother would she be if she let things lie?

Shaken by the message, Zoe’s world is turned upside down as she starts an obsessive hunt for the truth behind what really happened to her son and his friend. But why is Josh’s mother Roberta so determined not to believe her? And will the truth she uncovers bring her peace – or tear her life apart?

 

I always like to see what other people think about books, in reading the early reviews, I see descriptions like “fast-paced” “dark” “thrilling” and “WTF!”

Have you read this author’s other books? I especially liked Silent Lies!

 

 

Another novel that people are loving is The Waiting Room by Emily Bleeker. Emily popped up on my literary radar with her first book, Wreckage, and since then she’s written several other novels which constantly earn four and five-star reviews.

I am really intrigued by the plot and the potential for this book to be super intense!

Ever since her husband’s death collided with the birth of her daughter, postpartum depression has taken hold of Veronica Shelton. She can’t sleep, can’t work, and can’t bear to touch her beautiful baby girl. Her emotional state is whispering lies in Veronica’s ear: You’re a bad mother. Your baby would be better off without you. But not everything can be reasoned away by Veronica’s despair. Can it?

After all, the break-in at her house happened. The disturbing sketches she found in her studio are real. So is the fear for her daughter’s safety—especially when Veronica comes home to a cold, silent nursery and a missing baby.

As she turns from victim into primary suspect, Veronica realizes that only she can find her daughter. Authorities aren’t helping. They’re only watching. Veronica’s concerned mother has suddenly vanished from her life. And a new friend seems to be keeping secrets from her too. Now, reality is waiting for Veronica in a dark place—because someone’s mind games have only just begun.

The Waiting Room was recently published and its available to read right this minute, so get it now!

 

 

When a book is described as “In the most explosive and twisted psychological thriller since The Woman in the Window, a beautiful marriage turns beautifully bad” then I know I must get my little hands on it as soon as possible.

Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward looks like it could be an unputdownable thriller and those are the best kind! Take a look:

 

Maddie and Ian’s romance began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian’s PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son, Charlie; and the couple’s tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.

From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime.

 

WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN? I love a domestic thriller full of secrets!

 

 

Suspenseful, dark, haunting…yes, please! Those are a few adjectives describing The Boy At The Keyhole by Stephen Giles.  I am already conjuring up images of a large, creepy mansion and a scared little boy.

I might be way off base but I suspect this might keep me up late at night…

Take a look:

An electrifying debut in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca, about a British boy who, after his mother is abruptly called away to America, begins to suspect that perhaps she did not leave, but was murdered—by the housekeeper who cares for him in the family’s isolated country estate.

Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once great estate in Surrey with the family’s housekeeper, Ruth. His father is dead and his mother has been abroad for five months, purportedly tending to her late husband’s faltering business. She left in a hurry one night while Samuel was sleeping and did not say goodbye.

Beyond her sporadic postcards, Samuel hears nothing from his mother. He misses her dearly and maps her journey in an atlas he finds in her study. Samuel’s life is otherwise regulated by Ruth, who runs the house with an iron fist. Only she and Samuel know how brutally she enforces order.

As rumors in town begin to swirl, Samuel wonders whether something more sinister is afoot. Perhaps his mother did not leave, but was murdered—by Ruth.

Mystery, thriller, suspense, this book has it all!

 

 

No Comments

Leave a Comment

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)