Add These Books To Your Reading List Now

I just finished a really good book that kept me reading late into the night, big surprise! An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen is a great suspense novel. I loved it from page one and was totally hooked. I like how the style is different and the plot is one I never saw before. The book switches from the main character Jess to the psychiatrist, Dr. Sheilds. I was kind of on edge as I read, on edge in the best way!

Here’s what you need to know about this fabulous book, due out in 2019:

Seeking women ages 18–32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed.

When Jessica Farris signs up for a psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money, and leave. But as the questions grow more and more intense and invasive and the sessions become outings where Jess is told what to wear and how to act, she begins to feel as though Dr. Shields may know what she’s thinking…and what she’s hiding. As Jess’s paranoia grows, it becomes clear that she can no longer trust what in her life is real, and what is one of Dr. Shields’ manipulative experiments. Caught in a web of deceit and jealousy, Jess quickly learns that some obsessions can be deadly.

I got a sneak peek so I can tell you how good it is and how you will want to read this as soon as it’s out next January!

 

 

Starting the one soon! The Proposal by S.E. Lynes promises to be an unputdownable story! The best kind, right? Due out in September which is right around the corner. This one is being called BRILLIANT, UNIQUE, TWISTED.  These are adjectives that I love to see when I am reading a review! I cannot wait to dive into this book.

Here’s the plot:

Pippa wants a second chance. Recently divorced and unhappy at work, she has uprooted her life to move to a beautiful cottage in the countryside in search of a fresh start. But her new life is not working out quite as she planned.

One night, when Pippa is at home alone, a man arrives at her front door. And Pippa invites him in, and makes him an offer she believes could change everything…

How much of a risk would you take for a stranger? 

Does everyone deserve a second chance?

By the time Philippa finds out the answers to these questions, it may be too late to save herself.

From Amazon chart bestseller S.E. Lynes, The Proposal is a page-turning and utterly gripping thriller about the lengths we will go to for someone we love. Perfect for fans of Gone GirlThe Woman at the Window and The Wife Between Us.

Since I loved Gone Girl, The Woman at The Window, The Wife Between Us and all of those other twisty thrilling novels, so I am certain I will read this one in record time!

 

 

I am reading and enjoying The Boy At The Door by Alex Dahl. This is one of those books where I started it and wasn’t sure what it was going to be about. Sometimes I want to be completely surprised and see how things unfold without knowing what to expect. So far, I am totally into it!

Here’s what you will want to know if you want to know at all:

Set against a stunning Scandinavian backdrop, a gritty novel of psychological suspense that asks the question how far would you go to hold onto what you have?

Cecilia Wilborg has it all–a loving husband, two beautiful daughters and a gorgeous home in the affluent Norwegian town of Sandefjord. And she works hard to keep it all together. Too hard. Because one mistake from her past could bring it all crashing down around her.

Annika Lucasson lives a dark life with her abusive, drug-dealing boyfriend. She’s lost everything one too many times and now she’s got one last chance to save herself, thanks to Cecilia. Annika knows her secret–and just how much she’s willing to do to make it all go away…

When someone forgets to pick up their little boy at the local pool, Cecilia agrees to take him home, only to find an abandoned, empty house. It’s the first step in the unraveling of her meticulously crafted life, as her and Annika’s worlds collide…

I have so many questions and as the book delves further, I know they will be answered. I am looking forward to a Sunday afternoon of finishing this one up! You can read this one right now as it came out in July!

 

 

Sharon Bolton’s book The Craftsman will be out in October so add it to your Goodreads list or pre-order on Amazon or where ever you buy books! This sounds like the perfect thriller to read on a dark, cold night:

August, 1999
On the hottest day of the year, Assistant Commissioner Florence Lovelady attends the funeral of Larry Glassbrook, the convicted murderer she arrested thirty years earlier. A master carpenter and funeral director, Larry imprisoned his victims, alive, in the caskets he made himself. Clay effigies found entombed with their bodies suggested a motive beyond the worst human depravity.

June, 1969
13-year- old Patsy Wood has been missing for two days, the third teenager to disappear in as many months. New to the Lancashire police force and struggling to fit in, WPC Lovelady is sent to investigate an unlikely report from school children claiming to have heard a voice calling for help. A voice from deep within a recent grave.

August, 1999
As she tries to lay her ghosts to rest, Florence is drawn back to the Glassbrooks’ old house, in the shadow of Pendle Hill, where she once lodged with the family. She is chilled by the discovery of another effigy – one bearing a remarkable resemblance to herself. Is the killer still at large? Is Florence once again in terrible danger? Or, this time, could the fate in store be worse than even her darkest imaginings?

I haven’t read anything by Sharon Bolton before so this will be my first book by an author people absolutely love for her thrillers. The Craftsman is described as both creepy and scary so this one might have us staying up into the night to finish it.

 

 

Last but not least, I just finished A Noise Downstairs by Linwood Barclay. This novel flowed well and kept me engaged from beginning to end. I kind of figured part of the story out but then I was surprised at the end.

I really liked this suspenseful thriller and hope to read more by this author!

The book begins with college professor Paul Davis driving behind another professor on a dark road at night. He’s concerned that his colleague, Kenneth, is in distress because his driving is a little erratic. So when Kenneth pulls over, so does Paul. His intention is to make sure his friend is okay but when he sees two dead bodies in the back of the trunk, he knows everything is most definitely not okay.

And that’s the last thing he remembers of that night.

Now, months later, Paul is trying to put the events of that night behind him. Kenneth is in jail and cannot hurt Paul, so why is he having nightmares? He is seeing a therapist to help him deal with almost violently dying at the hands of his colleague. When his wife brings home a vintage typewriter, Paul starts hearing the tapping of the keys at night. And a typewriter is linked to the death of the women Kenneth killed. So what is happening? Is Paul imagining things? Is someone breaking into his house?

 

Here’s the official synopsis:

College professor Paul Davis is a normal guy with a normal life. Until, driving along a deserted road late one night, he surprises a murderer disposing of a couple of bodies. That’s when Paul’s “normal” existence is turned upside down. After nearly losing his own life in that encounter, he finds himself battling PTSD, depression, and severe problems at work. His wife, Charlotte, desperate to cheer him up, brings home a vintage typewriter—complete with ink ribbons and heavy round keys—to encourage him to get started on that novel he’s always intended to write.

However, the typewriter itself is a problem. Paul swears it’s possessed and types by itself at night. But only Paul can hear the noise coming from downstairs; Charlotte doesn’t hear a thing. And she worries he’s going off the rails.

Paul believes the typewriter is somehow connected to the murderer he discovered nearly a year ago. The killer had made his victims type apologies to him before ending their lives. Has another sick twist of fate entwined his life with the killer—could this be the same machine? Increasingly tormented but determined to discover the truth and confront his nightmare, Paul begins investigating the deaths himself.

But that may not be the best thing to do. Maybe Paul should just take the typewriter back to where his wife found it. Maybe he should stop asking questions and simply walk away while he can.

 

This one is a quick, compelling read and its available right now! I highly recommend it if you enjoy this genre!

 

No Comments

Leave a Comment

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)