5 Books To Read This Weekend

I don’t mean to read all five this weekend, but if you can read one or two, that would be amazing! Have you ever read five whole books in two days? I think I could if I did absolutely nothing else.

Each of these books really stood out for me. I am tired of seeing recycled plots though oftentimes writers do a good job of breathing fresh air into a stale storyline. I prefer to see something I’ve never seen before. Such as…

 

41150380

 

The Escape Room by Megan Goldin

“Cancel all your plans and call in sick; once you start reading, you’ll be caught in your own escape room—the only key to freedom is turning the last page!” Kirkus Reviews

The setting was new, an escape room within an elevator. The idea was something I haven’t read a million times before and it is written in such a suspenseful way that you want to keep reading.

Vincent, Jules, Sylvie, and Sam are ruthlessly ambitious high-flyers working in the lucrative world of Wall Street finance where deception and intimidation thrive. Getting rich is all that matters, and they’ll do anything to reach the top.

When they are ordered to participate in a corporate team-building exercise that requires them to escape from a locked elevator, dark secrets of their team begin to be laid bare.

The biggest mystery to solve in this lethal game: What happened to Sara Hall? Once a young shining star—”now gone but not forgotten”

Trust me, you can and you just might- read this in a single sitting. Get it here!

 

 

I loved Our House so when I saw that Louise Candlish had a new novel out, I knew I had to read it and I was not disappointed. A fresh plot I hadn’t seen before, yay!

In this story, the question persists- “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?” 

Those People will make you look at your annoying neighbors differently.

Lowland Way is the suburban dream. The houses are beautiful, the neighbors get along, and the kids play together on weekends.

But when Darren and Jodie move into the house on the corner, they donʼt follow the rules. They blast music at all hours, begin an unsightly renovation, and run a used-car business from their yard. It doesn’t take long for an all-out war to start brewing.

Then, early one Saturday, a horrific death shocks the street. As police search for witnesses, accusations start flying—and everyone has something to hide.

Get it right now- here.

 

 

I loved The Suspect by Fiona Barton. It was a five-star book for me and I think it’s her best book to date. I think this was me being in the mood for this exact kind of story and I was enveloped into the plot of the missing girls and the questions of their families.

When two eighteen-year-old girls go missing in Thailand, their families are thrust into the international spotlight: desperate, bereft, and frantic with worry. What were the girls up to before they disappeared?

Journalist Kate Waters always does everything she can to be first to the story, first with the exclusive, first to discover the truth—and this time is no exception. But she can’t help but think of her own son, whom she hasn’t seen in two years, since he left home to go traveling.

As the case of the missing girls unfolds, they will all find that even this far away, danger can lie closer to home than you might think…

If you haven’t already read this one, get it now and read it this weekend! 

 

 

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager is as good as all the reviews say it is.

The setting is a historic apartment building, the kind you see often in New York City with the gargoyles. The kind of place that you gaze up at and wonder about the people living inside. In this case, the apartment is full of sinister secrets.

No visitors. No nights spent away from the apartment. No disturbing the other residents, all of whom are rich or famous or both. These are the only rules for Jules Larsen’s new job as an apartment sitter at the Bartholomew, one of Manhattan’s most high-profile and mysterious buildings. Recently heartbroken and just plain broke, Jules is taken in by the splendor of her surroundings and accepts the terms, ready to leave her past life behind.

As she gets to know the residents and staff of the Bartholomew, Jules finds herself drawn to fellow apartment sitter Ingrid, who comfortingly, disturbingly reminds her of the sister she lost eight years ago. When Ingrid confides that the Bartholomew is not what it seems and the dark history hidden beneath its gleaming facade is starting to frighten her, Jules brushes it off as a harmless ghost story—until the next day, when Ingrid disappears.

Searching for the truth about Ingrid’s disappearance, Jules digs deeper into the Bartholomew’s dark past and into the secrets kept within its walls. Her discovery that Ingrid is not the first apartment sitter to go missing at the Bartholomew pits Jules against the clock as she races to unmask a killer, expose the building’s hidden past, and escape the Bartholomew before her temporary status becomes permanent.

I loved this book, I gave it five stars for a plot I haven’t seen, characters I liked, and tight writing that kept the suspense intense.

Read it! 

 

43822767

 

I started Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks and didn’t stop reading until I finished it. The book is intense, suspenseful, emotional. Exactly the kind of story I love!

Here’s what you need to know:

 

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. But while her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing—and admit that she’s solely to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now, more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women, trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that trusting Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter….

This breathless and fast-paced novel—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Get it here, you will probably finish it in one day!

Other Must-Reads that are newly published:

Dear Wife by Kimberly Belle

Her First Mistake by Sandie Jones

A Stranger on the Beach by Michelle Campbell

No Comments

Leave a Comment